Course Reserve Services and Policies
Checking Out Reserve Materials
Users must present a valid University of Delaware ID card or borrower card to check out Reserve material. Users may check out up to two items at one time, and date due slips indicate when each item needs to be returned. Loan periods are determined by the instructor who has placed the material on Reserve. All Reserve material must be returned to the Circulation and Reserve book drop: returning Reserve material to any other library service desk will delay check-in of the material and may result in overdue fines.
Users may renew most Reserve items if they are not finished with them at the end of the loan period that appears on the date due slip. In order to renew Reserve material, users need to present both a valid University of Delaware ID card or borrower card and the Reserve material at the Circulation and Reserve service desk. Certain items cannot be renewed because they are in very high demand; please check with Circulation and Reserve staff to confirm the renewal status of specific items. Reserve material cannot be renewed by telephone or through “My Library Account” in DELCAT Discovery.
Personal copy materials with a two hour loan period need to be used in the Morris Library and may not be taken beyond the exit gate.
Overdue Fines for Reserve Materials
Reserve material is in high demand because it enables students to meet course requirements. Overdue fines are charged to encourage appropriate use of these resources.
If Reserve material is not returned promptly, an overdue fine is charged:
|Hourly Loans||$1.00 per hour to a maximum of $20.00|
|Daily Loans||$3.00 per day to a maximum of $20.00|
Fees are payable at Room 116, Student Services Building, 30 Lovett Avenue. No money is collected at the Circulation and Reserve Desk. Users will be billed for replacement costs if a Reserve item is not returned within 15 days of its due date. If a billed item is returned undamaged, the replacement fee is waived. Processing fees are not waived, since the Library has already incurred the cost of processing. Borrowers will be billed for damaged library materials. This fee is applied towards repair or, if necessary, replacement of the damaged item.
|Library Material Replacement Costs|
|Minimum replacement Fee (Refundable if the item is promptly returned.)||$60.00|
|Non-refundable Invoice Processing Fee||$10.00|
|Non-refundable Overdue Fine||$20.00|
|Total Minimum Replacement charge||$90.00|