American Periodicals

Connect to Resource

American Periodicals provides access to two separate collections, American Periodicals Series Online (APS Online) and American Periodicals from the Center for Research (APCRL).

APS Online contains digitized images of the pages of American magazines and journals from colonial days to the dawn of the 20th century. The journals in this collection cover three broad periods:

  • 89 journals published between 1740 and 1800 offer insights into America’s transition from colonial times to independence
  • The first 60 years of the 19th century with general interest magazines, children’s publications, and more than 20 journals for women.
  • 118 periodicals published during the Civil War (1861-1865) and Reconstruction (1865-1877) eras and titles from the 1880s through 1900.

APS Online derives from the American Periodicals Series microform collection (sometimes referred to as APS I, APS II, and APS III). For periodicals that began publication before 1900 and continued into the 20th century, the cut-off date is 1940.

APCRL is a full-text electronic resource containing full-color scans of original printed documents archived at the Center for Research Libraries (CRL). The collection spans the nineteenth century through the dawn of the twentieth century, containing labor, trade, literary, scientific, and photographic periodicals, as well as other historically significant titles. The APCRL database contains a total of nearly 3 million pages comprising complete runs of hundreds of periodical titles.

Coverage: 1741-2005

Close This