Academic Video Online (AVON)

A multidisciplinary collection of many thousands of videos spanning a wide range of subject areas such as anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more.

Academic Video Online (AVON) resides on the Alexander Street video platform and is made up of stand alone videos as well as many complete video collections or portions of collections from Alexander Street. Some highlights of the collections available include:

• 60 Minutes: 1997-2014 – Streaming video of the television program 60 Minutes
• American History in Video – Newsreels and documentaries for the study of American history
• Art and Architecture in Video – Documentaries and interviews illustrating the theory and practice of a variety of art forms
• Asian Film Online – A view of Asian culture as seen through the lens of the independent Asian filmmaker
• BBC Video Collection – Collection of BBC films
• Black Studies in Video – Documentaries, newsreels, interviews and archival footage surveying the evolution of black culture in the United States
• Business Education in Video – Executive interviews, corporate training video, case studies, and documentary films that focus on all aspects of the global business environment
• Classicial Music in Video – Hours of classical music performances and masterclasses captured on video
• Counseling and Therapy in Video – Video providing a first-hand look at working with clients and the challenges associated with putting theoretical concepts into practice; includes 400+ DSM-5®/ICD-10 guided films by Symptom Media which showcase mental health symptoms unfolding to introduce and improve understanding, recognition, and diagnosing of psychiatric disorders
• Criminal Justice and Public Safety in Video – Documentaries and interviews provide personal field experiences as well as insight into the function and controversies of the justice system
• Current Affairs in Video – Documentaries emphasizing detailed analysis and discussion of the critical political issues of the day
• Dance in Video – Dance productions and documentaries by the most influential performers and companies of the 20th century
• Education in Video – Video for new and experienced teachers to link abstract theories of education to real-world students and classrooms
• Environmental Studies in Video – Film covering all realms of environmental studies
• Ethnographic Video Online – Video on the study of human culture, behavior and society around the world
• Fashion Studies Online – Video that retraces the history of fashion, clothing, and costume worldwide
• Filmakers Library Online – Award-winning documentaries
• Health and Society in Video – Video exploring today’s latest medical progress in health and wellness issues and their impact on society
• Latin America in Video – Original language documentaries about Latin American issues
• LGBT Studies in Video – Cinematic survey of the lives of lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender people as well as the cultural and political evolution of the LGBT community
• The March of Time – Video of Time Inc’s unique and controversial film series, The March of Time from 1935-1967
• Meet the Press – Streaming video of the television program Meet the Press
• New World Cinema: Independent Features and Shorts– Full-length feature films from leading independent distributors
• Opera in Video – Opera performances, captured on video through staged productions, interviews, and documentaries
• PBS Video Collection – Documentary films and series from the history of the Public Broadcasting Service
• Silent Film Online – Silent features, serials, and shorts from the 1890s to the 1930s
• Theatre in Video – Performances of the world’s leading plays together with film documentaries
• Theatre in Video, Volume II – Performances of the world’s leading plays together with film documentaries
• Video Journal of Counseling and Therapy – Presentations, lectures, and workshops from renowned counselors, psychologists, and practitioners
• World History in Video – Documentaries on world history from the earliest civilizations to the late twentieth century
• World Newsreels Online – International newsreels produced during the early twentieth century

Coverage: from the discovery of the Americas to the late 20th century