ProQuest Dissertations & Theses

Connect to Resource

Online access to citations and abstracts for international dissertations and theses. The database includes citations for materials ranging from the first U.S. dissertation, accepted in 1861, to those accepted as recently as last semester. Citations for dissertations published from 1980 forward also include 350-word abstracts, written by the author. Citations for master’s theses from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts. Of the 1.7 million titles listed, UMI offers abstracts for over a million. For these titles, the database citation includes UMI’s order number.

Over 100,000 dissertations have been digitized and are available in full text. Those University of Delaware dissertations which have been digitized are free to University of Delaware faculty, students, and staff. It is generally six to nine months from the time a student submits a dissertation to the University of Delaware Graduate Studies Office until that dissertation is available online. For dissertations and theses from 2007 and later, it is possible in Advanced Search to limit by academic department.

Titles published since 1997 are available in PDF digital format and have 24-page previews available.

The full text of over 100,000 dissertations is available. Dissertations are available in two formats: Full PDF and TIFF images wrapped in PDF. Those institutions that submit dissertations electronically will see their documents in full PDF; those that submit in paper will see their documents in TIFF images.

Dissertations & Theses @ University of Delaware is a subset of ProQuest Dissertations & Theses and includes only University of Delaware dissertations and theses. Dissertation Express enables students, faculty, staff, and researchers to order their own unbound copies of dissertations and theses with express delivery to their home, school or office. The database can be searched by author or title and covers 1861 to the present. Dissertation Abstracts International (DAI) (Library Annex Z5055 .U5A53) contains abstracts and additional information for theses before 1980.

Coverage: 1861-

Concurrent Users: 3 users

Related Research Guides:

Dissertations and Theses

Close This