W. Merritt Burke III pulp paperback book collection

Creator: Burke III, W. Merritt
Abstract: The W. Merritt Burke III pulp paperback book collection comprises pulp novels primarily published in the United States in the 1930s and 1940s. The bulk of the novels are mystery and detective fiction; however there are a few westerns as well. The collection includes work by many of the important authors of the period, including Eric Bentley, John Dickson Carr, Raymond Chandler, Agatha Christie, Erle Stanley Gardner, Mary Rinehart, Mickey Spillane, Rex Stout, and others. All of the important paperback publishers of the period are represented in this collection, including pulp-fiction publishers Avon, Bantam, Pocket Books, Popular Library, and Dell. Included in the Dell paperbacks are a run of the famous Dell map-back mysteries, which featured maps related to the fictional mysteries on the back covers of the titles in the series.
Date(s): 1930-1949
Call Number: MSS 0559