The Assembly is guided by a Steering Committee composed of the Chair, Chair of the Professional Development Committee , Secretary/Treasurer, Chair of the Nominations Committee , Member-at-Large, Mentoring Program Coordinator, Chair of the Student Scholarship Committee, the Professional Advisory Council (PAC) Representative, and the most recently elected Faculty Senator. The PAC Representative and the Faculty Senator shall be non-voting, ex officio.

Other standing committees include the Professional Development Committee, Nominations and Elections Committee, and Student Scholarship Committee.

Ad hoc committees are appointed to carry out special projects. Past projects have included: travel funding and development of a scholarship for Library student assistants.