After the Final No: Samuel Beckett's Trilogy

by Thomas Cousineau

Hardback • 1999 • $74.00
ISBN: 978-1611491821

Order Book

This study explores the dialectic of destruction and renewal in the work that Samuel Beckett regarded as his masterpiece: the trilogy of novels he wrote after World War II. It interprets the trilogy as presenting a subversive critique of the three idols: mother, father, and self to which humanity has looked for protection and guidance throughout history.

About the Author
Thomas Cousineau is Professor of English at Washington College in Maryland.