The AAS Historical Periodicals Collection contains more than 6,500 historical periodical titles documenting the life of America’s people from the Colonial Era through the Civil War and Reconstruction, and into the early 20th century. The collection is grouped in 5 series which are chronological in nature. The 5 series can be searched together or separately.
- Series 1: 1684-1820
- Series 2: 1821-1837
- Series 3: 1838-1852
- Series 4: 1853-1865
- Series 5: 1865-1912
A Reference Shelf, located on right side of the search results screen, contains:
- Dictionary of Pre-19th Century Terms & Definitions: This dictionary, compiled by Brittannica, allows the user to not only find definitions for early terminology, but to search documents by the words themselves.
- Collection Overview Essays: Overview Essays are reviews and summaries written by prominent historians who have used the specified collection for historical research. These essays, addressing the specific collection or content in it, provide invaluable insight into and highlight the research value of the content. These essays can be helpful in placing collection contents in a larger historical context, as well as inspire new research ideas or methods of using the collection for the researcher.
- Citation Help: Detailed instructions, links, and examples of how to cite various types of information using MLA, Chicago, and APA styles of citation.
- FAQs: A selection of frequently asked questions
This collection is also available on the Gale Primary Sources platform.
Coverage: 1684-1912