HeinOnline Academic is the world’s largest fully searchable, image-based government document and legal research database. It contains extensive coverage of U.S. statutory materials, U.S. Congressional Documents, all of the world’s constitutions, all U.S. treaties, collections of classic treatises and presidential documents. Coverage of United States government publications is comprehensive back to inception, and all titles are exact replicas of the official print publication from the Government Printing Office. A large assortment of international resources are also available.
HeinOnline contains more than 2,800 law-related journals on a variety of subjects, including animal rights, human rights, political science, history, gender studies, election law, civil rights, foreign relations, and more. All journals date back to inception and more than 90% are available through the current issue or volume.
Subject related collections are often curated and made available. Examples include Civil Rights and Social Justice, COVID-19 in America, Criminal Justice and Criminology, Executive Privilege, Gun Regulation and Legislation in America, John F. Kennedy Assassination Collection, and Pentagon Papers.
HeinOnline has partnered with Fastcase, a leading legal research service that features “best-case-first” tools. Fastcase ranks the best cases first and enables the re-sorting of results to find answers fast. Users have access to a wide array of case law at the federal and state levels and can access the full text of cases without the need to use multiple databases. Features include inline hyperlinking of cases within text of documents in HeinOnline, Bad Law Bot which displays a red flag when negative treatment has been posted to a case, and Hein’s ScholarCheck tool which is integrated into Fastcase’s interface.
A Comprehensive User’s Guide may be downloaded at http://www.heinonline.org/HeinDocs/HOLUserGuide.pdf.
Related Research Guides
Political Science & International Relations
Public Policy & Administration
U.S. Government Information
U.S. Government Legal Information
Having trouble connecting? Report an E-Resource Problem so that we can help you.