Materials Research Database with METADEX
Consists of 11 leading materials science databases, with specialist content on materials science, metallurgy, ceramics, polymers, and composites used in engineering applications. The collection provides coverage on materials processes, both applied and theoretical, including welding and joining, heat treatment and thermal spray.
When searching any of these databases, three additional databases are searched simultaneously: MicroPatent Materials Patents (containing abstracts of U.S., European, and Patent Cooperation Treaty patents relating to materials science), Web Resources Database (indexed Web sites in materials science), and Recent References (a current-citation database).
The 11 databases are:
- Aluminium Industry Abstracts (AIA), formerly World Aluminum Abstracts (WAA), provides comprehensive coverage of the world’s technical literature on aluminum, production processes, products, applications, and business developments.
- Ceramic Abstracts/World Ceramics Abstracts is a comprehensive database for the ceramics industry, providing international coverage on the manufacture, processing, applications, properties and testing of traditional and advanced ceramics.
- The Copper Data Center Database (CDC) covers copper technology from smelting and hydrometallurgy through the performance of copper and copper alloys in their end-use applications and service environments. It references data on the properties and performance of copper and copper alloys and on applications of the copper metals.
- Corrosion Abstracts covers general corrosion, testing, corrosion characteristics, preventive measures, materials construction and performance, and equipment for many industries.
- Engineered Materials Abstracts (EMA) covers research, manufacturing practices, properties, and applications of engineered materials. It consists of three subfiles: Advanced Polymers Abstracts, Composites Industry Abstracts, and Engineered Materials Abstracts, Ceramics.
- Materials Business File focuses on industry news, international trade data, government regulations and management issues related to the metals and materials industries.
- Mechanical Engineering Abstracts surveys and summarizes the worldwide literature in mechanical engineering, engineering management, and production engineering.
- METADEX is a comprehensive source for information on metals and alloys: their properties, manufacturing, applications, and development.
- WELDASEARCH is a comprehensive database containing abstracts to journal articles, research reports, books, standards, patents, theses and special publications in the areas of joining metals, plastics and ceramics, metal and ceramic spraying, thermal cutting, brazing, soldering and related topics.