The Making of the Modern World digital collection presents books, serials, political pamphlets, broadsides, government publications, proclamations, and ephemera focusing on economics, political science, history, sociology, banking, finance, transportation and manufacturing. The collection is comprised of many rare titles and first editions in languages other than English including French, German, Portuguese, Scandinavian, Italian and Spanish.
This collection can also be searched on Gale Primary Sources, an integrated platform that combines Gale’s digital archives into a single cross-searchable interface.
This collection includes four parts:
- The Making of the Modern World, Part I: The Goldsmiths’-Kress Collection, 1450-1850
Combines the strengths of two pre-eminent collections—the Goldsmiths’ Library of Economic Literature at the University of London Library and the Kress Collection of Business and Economics at the Harvard Business School—along with supplementary materials from the Seligman Collection in the Butler Library at Columbia University and from the libraries of Yale University. For major works of many economists, multiple editions are included. The database also includes works on usury; demographic patterns in 18th-century England; the textile industry and technological advance; public policy; poverty and the work ethic; pre-Marxian socialism; Utopian socialism; and more.
- The Making of the Modern World, Part II: 1851-1914
Comprised mainly of monographs, reports, correspondence, speeches, and surveys, this collection covers social, economic, and business history, as well as political science, technology, industrialization and the birth of the modern corporation.
- The Making of the Modern World, Part III: 1890-1945
Delves deeper into the twentieth century covering the key events that have shaped the modern world. Beyond the study of economic thought, the collection provides an invaluable resource for the studying of social forces unleashed by the economy. This collection is of particular value to anyone with an interest in early twentieth century history, political science, philosophy, business/economic law, and women’s studies.
- The Making of the Modern World, Part IV: 1800-1890
Definitive coverage of the industrial revolution and the High Victorian Era, when the foundations of modern-day capitalism and global trade were established. Includes unique material at the Senate House Library, University of London, that was not previously available; subsequent library acquisitions have broadened the scope of the Goldsmiths’ Library of Economic Literature beyond economics. The core of the collection – 1850s – 1890 – offers rich content in the high Victorian period, the apogee of the British Empire. It is especially strong in “grey literature” and non-mainstream materials rarely preserved by libraries—including pamphlets, plans, ephemera, and private collections.