Oxford Music Online

Connect to Resource

Oxford Music Online is a gateway into music research. It includes Encyclopedia of Popular Music, The Oxford Dictionary of Music, Grove Music Online, and The Oxford Companion to Music.

  • Colin Larkin’s Encyclopedia of Popular Music (Fourth Edition) is the most comprehensive reference work devoted exclusively to popular music. It is the authoritative biographical encyclopedia of rock, pop, and jazz artists, covering popular music from 1900 to the present. It also has its own Web site (at the Oxford Digital Reference Shelf).
  • The Oxford Dictionary of Music (Second Edition, Revised) covers musical subjects of all kinds. Included are entries on composers, performers, conductors, musical terms and forms, instruments, works, venues, and a host of other topics. It also provides entries on conductors, performers, directors, critics, producers and designers of international repute, writers and scholars. Entries also cover individual works, including operas and ballets, orchestras and companies from around the world, famous opera houses, concert-halls, and musical festivals. Musical terms and styles, as well as forms ranging from operatic, vocal, and film scores, to song cycles, chamber, hymns, barbershop, and oratorios are covered, as are general themes such as musicology, acoustics, and absolute pitch, and historical periods such as the Byzantine era.
  • Grove Music Online is the cornerstone of Oxford’s online music reference collection. The core content of Grove Music Online is made up of a combination of articles from several print Grove dictionaries along with articles commissioned for online and not available in print. Articles on the same subject from specialist Grove Dictionaries, such as The New Grove Dictionary of Opera and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz are available through a link from the primary article. These articles are referred to as “archived” because they are static articles, not subject to regular updating.
  • The Oxford Companion to Music is a comprehensive dictionary of music and musicians, comprising the full text of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, 2d ed. (2001), The New Grove Dictionary of Opera (1992), and the New Grove Dictionary of Jazz (2002). Entries for musicians include a biography, list of works, and bibliography.

Users: 3 concurrent users; ; unlimited concurrent users for Encyclopedia of Popular Music at its Oxford Digital Reference Center location

Related Research Guides:

Music
Theatre

Close This