Past Masters

Connect to Resource

Past Masters is a collection of primary-source full-text humanities databases. Past Masters titles are usually comprised of the complete works of individual authors.

The Library currently provides access to these Past Masters components:

  • Anselm: Major Works – Translations of the major works of St. Anselm of Canterbury, edited with an introduction by Brian Davies and G. R. Evans, and published by Oxford University Press in 1998.
  • Aquinas: Collected Works – Almost every work of St. Thomas Aquinas which has been translated into English (over fifty texts).
  • Aristotle: Complete Works – The Revised Oxford Translation of The Complete Works of Aristotle, edited by Jonathan Barnes, and published by Princeton University Press in 1984.
  • Augustine: Works (2nd Release) – New City Press, in conjunction with the Augustinian Heritage Institute (Boniface Ramsey, editor, previously edited by John E. Rotelle), has undertaken the first complete translation of the works of St. Augustine. The second electronic release contains 30 volumes of the printed series, almost half of the projected finished size of the series.
  • Austen: Complete Works and Letters – Contains the Oxford University Press edition of The Novels of Jane Austen, 3rd ed. with revisions (London: Oxford University Press, 1980-1982); Jane Austen’s Letters, collected and edited by Deirdre Le Faye, 3rd ed. (Oxford: Oxford University Press, 1995); and A Memoir of Jane Austen, and Other Family Recollections by J. E. Austen-Leigh, edited with an introduction and notes by Kathryn Sutherland (Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2002).
  • Austen: Letters – Austen, Jane. Jane Austen’s Letters, Collected and edited by Deirdre Le Faye. 3rd ed. Oxford and New York: Oxford University Press, 1995.
  • Bacon: Works – Bacon, Francis. The Major Works. Edited by Brian Vickers. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2002.
  • Baillie: Collected LettersThe Collected Letters of Joanna Baillie. 2 vols. Madison, N.J.: Fairleigh Dickinson University Press; London and Cranbury, N.J.: Associated University Presses, 1999.
  • Bentham: Correspondance – Bentham, Jeremy. The Correspondence of Jeremy Bentham, 10 vols. London: The Athlone Press; Oxford, Eng: Clarendon Press, Oxford University, 1968-1994.
  • Bentham: Works – Bentham, Jeremy. The Collected Works of Jeremy Bentham. Published and unpublished works from the definitive and ongoing Bentham Project.
  • Brontë: Letters – Brontë, Charlotte. The Letters of Charlotte Brontë. With a Selection of Letters by Family and Friends. Edited by Margaret Smith. 2 vols. Oxford: Clarendon; New York: Oxford University Press, 1995-2000.
  • Burney: Complete Plays – Burney, Fanny. The Complete Plays of Frances Burney. Edited by Peter Sabor; associate editor Stewart J. Cooke. 2 vols. London: Pickering & Chatto, 1995.
  • Burney: Journals and Letters – Burney, Fanny. The Early Journals and Letters of Fanny Burney. Edited by Lars E. Troide and Stewart J. Cooke. 3 vols. Oxford [Oxfordshire], Clarendon Press; Oxford and New York: Oxford University Press, 1987-94; Burney, Fanny. The Journals and Letters of Fanny Burney. Edited by Joyce Hemlow, Curtis D. Cecil, Althea Douglas, Patricia Boutilier, Edward A. Bloom, Lillian D. Bloom, Peter Hughes, Patricia Hawkins and Warren Derry. 12 vols. Oxford: Clarendon Press, 1972-84.
  • Coleridge: The Collected Letters – The complete edition of Coleridge’s letters, augmented by his early family letters and the letters of his son, Hartley, all from Oxford University Press. The database contains:
    • Coleridge, Samuel Taylor. Coleridge – The Early Family Letters, edited with an introduction by James Engell. Oxford University Press, 1994.
    • Coleridge, Samuel Taylor. Collected Letters of Samuel Taylor Coleridge, edited by Earl Leslie Griggs, 6 volumes. Oxford: Calrendon Press 1956-1971; reprint, Oxford University Press, 2000.
    • Coleridge, Hartley. The Letters of Hartley Coleridge, edited by Grace Evelyn Griggs and Earl Leslie Griggs. London: Oxford University Press, 1936.
  • Darwin: WorksThe Works of Charles Darwin, edited by Paul H. Barrett and R. B. Freeman, and published by Pickering & Chatto, 1986-1990.
  • Dickens: Letters – Dickens, Charles. The Letters of Charles Dickens (the Pilgrim Edition), general editors: Madeline House, Graham Storey, Kathleen Tillotson. 12 vols. Oxford: Clarendon Press, 1965-.
  • Foucault: Les OeuvresThe Works of Michel Foucault
  • The Eighteenth Century – Contains 48 volumes of correspondence of important figures in eighteenth century England, all from Oxford University Press
  • Hegel: Werke II – G.W.F. Hegel, Werke in zwanzig Bänden. Theorie-Werkausgabe. Frankfurt: Suhrkamp, 1970. The InteLex Hegel Werke II electronic edition contains the complete Theorie-Werkausgabe, and volume and page numbers in the reference lines of each paragraph in the electronic edition refer to the volume and page numbers contained in the Theorie-Werkausgabe edition.
  • Kant: Hauptwerke – Immanuel Kant, Hauptwerke. Electronic edition © Karsten Worm, 1998.
  • Motif-Index of Folk Literature – Electronic edition based on the revised and enlarged edition of Stith Thompson, Motif-Index of Folk-Literature, rev. and enl. ed. Bloomington and Indianapolis: Indiana University Press, 1955.
  • Nietzsches Werke – Nietzsche, Friedrich. Werke: Kritische Gesamtausgabe. Hrsg. von Giorgio Colli und Mazzino Montinari. Berlin: Walter de Gruyter, 1967- and Nietzsche, Friedrich. Sämtliche Werke: Kritische Studienausgabe. Herausgegeben von Giorgio Colli und Mazzino Montinari. München: Deutscher Taschenbuch Verlag; Berlin and New York: Walter de Gruyter, 1988.
  • Oxford Classical DictionaryThe Oxford Classical Dictionary, edited by Simon Hornblower and Antony Spawforth. 3d ed. Oxford; New York: Oxford University Press, 1996.
  • Peirce: Writings – Electronic edition based on Writings of Charles S. Peirce: A Chronological Edition. 6 vols. Bloomington: Indiana University Press, 19982-1999.
  • Plato: Collected Dialogues – the Edith Hamilton and Huntington Cairns edition of Plato: The Collected Dialogues (Bollingen Foundation, 1961) and the Benjamin Jowett 4th edition of the Dialogues (Jowett Copyright Trustees, 1951), with the exception of the Lane Cooper translation of Euthyphro (Hamilton and Cairns).
  • Pope: CorrespondenceThe Correspondence of Alexander Pope, edited by George Sherburn, 5 vols., published by Clarendon Press in 1956.
  • The Romantic AgeJane Austen’s Letters, collected and edited by Deirdre Le Faye. 3d ed. (Oxford; New York: Oxford University Press, 1997); The Letters of William Blake, edited by Geoffrey Keynes. 3d ed., rev. (Oxford: Clarendon Press; New York: Oxford University Press, 1980); Letters of Fanny Brawne to Fanny Keats, 1820-1824, edited with a biographical introduction by F. Edgcumbe, with a foreword by M.B. Forman (Oxford University Press, 1936); The Letters of Robert Burns, edited by J. De Lancey Ferguson. 2d ed. 2 vols. (Oxford: Clarendon Press, 1985; Maria Edgeworth, Letters from England, 1813-1844, edited by Christina Colvin (xford: Clarendon Press, 1971); Maria Edgeworth in France and Switzerland, Selections from the Edgeworth Family Letters, edited by Christina Colvin (Oxford: Clarendon Press; New York: Oxford University Press, 1979; Letters of David Ricardo to Hutches Trower and Others, 1811-1823, edited by James Bonar and J.H. Hollander (Oxford: Clarendon Press, 1899); Letters of David Ricardo to Thomas Robert Malthus, 1810-1823, edited by James Bonar (Oxford: Clarendon Press, 1887); Percy Bysshe Shelley, Letters, edited by Frederick L. Jones. 2 vols. (Oxford: Clarendon Press, 1964); Sydney Smith, Letters, edited by Nowell C. Smith. 2 vols. (Oxford: Clarendon Press, 1953); Robert Southey, Journals of a Residence in Portugal, 1800-1801, and a Visit to France, 1838, Supplemented by Extracts from His Correspondence, edited by Adolfo Cabral (Oxford: Clarendon Press, 1960; Letters of Robert Southey – A Selection, edited, with introduction and notes by Maurice H. Fitzgerald (London: Oxford University Press, 1912; Letters of Edward John Trelawny, edited with a brief introduction and notes by H. Buxton Forman (Oxford University Press, 1910); Collected Correspondence of J.M.W. Turner, with an Early Diary and a Memoir by George Jones, edited by John Gage (Oxford: Clarendon Press, 1980); The Letters of Samuel Wesley, Professional and Social Correspondence, 1797-1837, edited by Philip Olleson (Oxford University Press, 2001).
  • Schopenhauer: Hauptwerke – Schopenhauer, Arthur. Sämtliche Werke. Hrsg. Paul Deussen. München: R. Piper, 1911-. Based on the edition Schopenhauer im Kontext by Karsten Worm. © Karsten Worm, InfoSoftWare, Berlin 2001.
  • Shelley (Mary): JournalsThe Journals of Mary Shelley, 1814-1844, edited by Paula R. Feldman and Diana Scott-Kilvert. 2 volumes. (Oxford: Clarendon Press; New York: Oxford University Press, 1987).
  • Shelley (Mary): Novels and Selected WorksThe Novels and Selected Works of Mary Shelley, edited by Nora Crook with Pamela Clemit. 8 volumes. (London: Pickering & Chatto, 1996).
  • Swift: Correspondence – Swift, Jonathan. Correspondence, edited by Harold Williams. 5 volumes. (Oxford: Clarendon Press, 1963-65).
  • Synge: Collected Letters – Synge, Millington John. The Collected Letters of John Millington Synge, edited by Ann Saddlemeyer. 2 volumes. (Oxford: Oxford University Press, 1983-1984).
  • Wittgenstein: Collected Works – Contains all translations of Wittgenstein published by Blackwell Publishers (as well as The Blue and Brown Books).
  • Wittgenstein: NachlassWittgensteins Nachlass: The Bergen Electronic Edition. The text-only “normalized transcription.”
  • Wittgenstein: Texts and Contexts – The first 25 issues of the Schriftenreihe (publications series) from the Wittgenstein Gesellschaft of Austria, most of which are in English. The series includes 2 issues with original texts from Wittgenstein: his Wörterbuch für Volkschulen (1926 – SWG Band 1), one of only two extended texts published in his lifetime; and the Familienbriefe (SWG Band 23), containing the correspondence of Wittgenstein with his family.
  • Wollstonecraft: Works – Wollstonecraft, Mary. The Works of Mary Wollstonecraft. Edited by Janet Todd and Marrilyn Butler; assistant editor Emma Rees-Mogg. 7 volumes. London: Pickering & Chatto, 1989.
  • Wordsworths: Collected Letters – Robinson, Henry Crabb, The Correspondence of Henry Crabb Robinson with the Wordsworth Circle, 1808-1866, edited by Edith J. Morley (Oxford: Clarendon Press, 1927); Wordsworth, Dorothy, Journals of Dorothy Wordsworth, edited by Mary Moorman, 2d ed. (Oxford: Oxford University Press, 1978); Wordsworth, Dorothy, The Grasmere Journals, edited by Pamela Woof (Oxford: Clarendon Press; New York: Oxford University Press, 1991); Wordsworth, Mary, The Letters of Mary Wordsworth, edited by Mary E. Burton (Oxford: Clarendon Press, 1958); Wordsworth, William and Dorothy Wordsworth, The Letters of William and Dorothy Wordsworth, edited by Ernest de Selincourt, 2d ed., 7 vols. (Oxford: Clarendon Press, 1967-1993); and Wordsworth, William and Dorothy Wordsworth, The Letters of William and Dorothy Wordsworth, Volume 8: A Supplement of New Letters, edited by Alan G. Hill, rev. ed. (Oxford: Clarendon Press, 1993).
  • Yeats: Collected LettersThe Collected Letters of W. B. Yeats, John Kelley, general editor, vols. 1-3 (Oxford: Oxford University Press, 1986-1997).

Related Research Guides:

English and American Literature
History

Close This