Political Extremism and Radicalism

Search Database

Political Extremism and Radicalism is a compilation of rare and unique archival collections focused on political extremism and radical thought. A broad assortment of political movements from both far-right and radical left political groups are covered. The diverse mixture of materials, including periodicals, campaign propaganda, government records, oral histories and ephemera allow researchers to explore unorthodox social and political movements and understand what impact they have had on today’s society. Records provide a behind-the-scenes view of often inaccessible groups, such as the John Birch Society or the Black Panther Party.

This resource is valuable to researchers in international and American history, politics, international relations, government studies, and broadly applicable to additional topics such as gender, sociology, psychology, and religious studies.

Source Archives Include:

  • The American Radicalism Collection from Michigan State University is a collection of ephemera on radical political groups across a range of extremist and radical movements, including those involved in religion, race, gender, the environment, and equal rights. The materials represent a large variety of viewpoints, from the far-right to the far-left, on political, social, cultural, sexual, and economic issues in the United States from 1970 to the present.
  • The Hall-Hoag Collection of Dissenting & Extremist Printed Propaganda from Brown University features a cross-section of extremist literature ranging from the mid-1950s to the present. Publications in this collection represent extremist opinion towards integration and civil rights activism, as well as materials on American antisemitism, Christian Identity theology, neo-Nazi groups and white supremacy movements.
  • The Searchlight Archive, held at the University of Northampton in the UK, consists of documents from Searchlight Associates, an information service founded in 1962 that aimed to investigate racist and fascist groups in Britain and abroad and publicize their activities. Collections include ephemera accumulated as part of their investigations and the complete run of Searchlight magazine (1965-present). The archive also includes the Searchlight Oral Histories Collection, which consists of interviews with anti-fascist activists active from the 1940s-1990s.
  • The National Archives in the UK is the source archive for digitized secret service and home office documents relating to inter-and post-war British fascist and communist movements. This includes the Security Service: Personal Files series (PF Series) containing selected files from the 1st and 2nd World War periods and the inter-war years on suspected spies, renegades, communist sympathizers, right-wing extremists and other groups in which the British Security Service took an interest. It also contains Home Office papers pertaining to the detention of Sir Oswald Mosley, leader of the British Union of Fascists, during the 2nd World War and a number of other suspected Nazi sympathizers who were members of far-right groups.

Provider: Gale
Coverage: 1920s to 2010s

This collection can also be searched on Gale Primary Sources, an integrated platform that combines Gale’s digital archives into a single cross-searchable interface.