America: History and Life

Connect to Resource

America: History & Life is the definitive index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With indexing for 1,700 journals from 1954 to present, this database is without question the most important bibliographic reference tool for students and scholars of U.S. and Canadian history. The database also includes citations and links to book and media reviews. Strong English-language journal coverage is balanced by an international perspective on topics and events, including abstracts in English of articles published in more than 40 languages. In 2006, America: History and Life began adding retrospective coverage for the most important historical journals in JSTOR. By project’s end, coverage for these journals will extend back to the late-19th century.

CLIO Notes, accessed by clicking on “CLIO Notes” at the upper left of the screen, guides you through subjects in United States history by allowing you to browse through chronologies and brief summaries of significant events and themes. On the main screen, you will find a list of major time periods and events. Each of these is further divided into subtopics that display informative essays and suggestions for further research. Linked subject terms are also provided, which allow you to search the entire America: History and Life database for articles, book and media reviews, and dissertations.

Coverage of the scholarly historical literature for areas other than the United States and Canada is provided by Historical Abstracts. It may be searched simulteanously with America: History & Life.

Coverage: 1910-

Users: 6 concurrent users

Close This