Historical Abstracts

We need your input:

Take Survey

In response to a University-mandated budget reduction, the Library will strategically reduce spending on books, journals and databases during the 2020-2021 academic year (FY21).

Historical Abstracts has been identified as a lesser-used database which may be canceled. In order to gather additional data to assist with the decision making process, we ask that you complete a brief survey about your use of this online resource. Thank you for your participation.

Connect to Resource

Historical Abstracts covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women’s history, history of education, and more – essential for libraries supporting upper-division and graduate research. This authoritative database provides indexing of more than 2,300 academic journals in over 40 languages dating back to 1953, with some coverage for titles back to the early 20th century.

CLIO Notes, accessed by clicking on “CLIO Notes” at the upper left of the screen, guides you through subjects in world history by allowing you to browse through chronologies and brief summaries of significant events and themes. On the main screen, you will find a list of major time periods and events. Each of these is further divided into subtopics that display informative essays and suggestions for further research. Linked subject terms are also provided, which allow you to search the entire Historical Abstracts database for articles, book and media reviews, and dissertations.

Coverage of the scholarly historical literature for the United States and Canada is provided by America: History & Life. It may be searched simultaneously with Historical Abstracts.

Coverage: 1953-

Users: 6 concurrent users